Learning about Geocaching

This week I had the opportunity to participate in my first Geocaching activity.  Geocaching is like going on a treasure hunt using GPS devices instead of a treasure map.  There are many different kind of “caches” or treasures that are hidden by various people participating in the activity.  We worked together in groups using our GPS devices to navigate to the coordinates where our caches were located.  This can be done using a traditional GPS device or various apps on iOS or Android devices.

There was a learning curve in the beginning figuring out how to best utilize the device to navigate our route, but once we got rolling my group was able to locate our various caches.  This was a fun activity and something I not only plan to try out more on my own, but I see tremendous potential for using with students.

Check out the video below for an introduction to Geocaching.

The Tech Integrator

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *